Skip to content

Día de la Comida en España

February 23, 2012

I must say everyday in Spain is an adventure.  I just never know what is going to happen on any given day in this country.  I love the new experiences, and living abroad makes life seem like anything is possible at any given moment.  It’s a beautiful feeling, and I think I’m addicted!!! haha Anyway….today I went to school, and as my first hour class was ending, suddenly a teacher came rushing into the classroom looking for her camera.  I could hear people in the hallways of my school, and I asked my co-teacher what was going on.  She told me that today is the “food day celebration” in Spain.  How cool right??? I love food, and better yet, I love Spanish food.  Spanish people have so much pride in their culture, and the food of Spain is a large part of their culture, so it makes sence that they would have a day to celebrate their wonderful comida!

Here’s a recap of the “food celebration” in the school today!

 

The kids are patiently waiting for their tapas, while the Mothers prep the food.

20120223-123644.jpg

First Step was to set the tables, and grab their beverages.

20120223-123650.jpg

The Mothers prepared, and brought the food, which included; queso, ham, Olives, white bread for sandwiches, Tortilla Espanola, and tomatoes with olive oil.

20120223-123658.jpg

Picture of the Moms cutting the homemade Tortilla.  Tortilla is a very common Tapa in Spain, made from potatoes and eggs.  Super simple, but soooo delicious!

 

20120223-123707.jpg

Tortilla finally prepared, with a ketchup smiley face! How cute!!

20120223-123726.jpg

My student Claudia, anticipating the wonderful tapas!! She’s so excited!!

20120223-123736.jpg

The kids making pinchos, and bocadillos.

 

20120223-123745.jpg

A beautiful Pincho assembled by my student!

20120223-123750.jpg

The food celebration was a success, and the kids loved sharing tapas, and celebrating the food of their culture!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

