Skip to content

Long time…

February 16, 2012

Hey,

Soo….it’s been a while since I’ve updated my blog.  There have been many experiences in between, and I have been taking this time off from the blog world to regain some much-needed strength.  My time here in Spain is past the half way point, and I’m finally catching a stride, and I am no longer in fear of this unknown pueblo that I moved to six months ago.  It’s crazy how something so foreign can start to become home, start to become familiar, start to be something that embraces your heart and soul, and Arcos has been that for me.  The people have accepted me with open arms, and in return it has given me this ability to be more comfortable with my self, with my humanity, and to be okay with my faults.  The magical charm of these tangled streets have given me the ability to be appreciate the history of the Moors and the influence that they have had on Andalusia.  I have been able to absorb the mystery of history, and carry with me a mystic in my spirit, that only those who care to get to know me will be able to uncover.  The Spanish cuisine, and all the culture dining norms here have allowed me to sloooww the fuck down, enjoy a gourmet meal, taste each bite, and not worry about the time, just simply live in the moment.  The siesta in Spain has provided me with the pleasure of relaxation, and doing absolutely nothing in the middle of the day, and to be OKAY with that.  It has allowed my anxiety to rest, or at least be in remission while I’m here in Spain.  There are so many things Spain has given to me, and that life gives to me, and sometime I don’t think I will ever be able to repay these gifts to the world.  One day at a time, I am showing up for life, and doing my best to shine.  My hope is that I will be able to express my gratitude through music, and through my interactions with people who I encounter in my everyday life.  I believe in the power of small acts of kindness that make the world go round, and I try to not underestimate a genuine compliment, or a smile.  I believe these small acts create a better world to live in, and I try to practice them in my life.  Since I’m on the subject of self-evaluation, I have realized that I need to work on my compassion toward people in my life, and forgiveness to those who have hurt me, because the truth of the matter is that I have been given so much more love then hate in my life and I must show that love to the world.

Poco a poco as the Spaniard say…xxM.Shay

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 3:07 pm

    Nice post 🙂 It is crazy how this place felt so foreign at one point, isn’t it? I’m so proud of all of us 🙂

Leave a Reply

