Skip to content

Interview!

January 24, 2012

Last week my 13-year-old little sister, Kate asked me if she could interview me for an English project at her school, and it requires her to interview an inspiring person in her life that she knows.  I happily obliged, and was very flattered that she choose me to be her interviewer.  Today was the day that she interviewed me, and I have to say there were some thought-provoking questions that I thought I might share with anyone who decides to read my blog.  Anyway… here it goes:

Question #1.)  When you try hard and don’t succeed, are you hard on your self, or do you just think about what you did wrong and how you can succeed?

I know that in order to achieve my goals in life I must possess perseverance and that success does not happen overnight.  I am a hard worker, and when I set my mind on a goal, I do whatever it takes to materialize that goal.  I use self-taught capabilities such as; discipline, motivation, and compassion to accomplish my goal.  I try to always maintain a positive attitude so that when I don’t succeed, I am able to pick my self back up, and not waste precious energy on  negative, critical thoughts of “faliure”.  This way I am able to get back to practicing for the next opportunity that comes my way!

2.)    Does your attitude have anything to do with my success in Life? explain…..

Yes, it does.  When I think positive, I have positive actions.  My actions are reflections of my thoughts, when I have love for my self, I give love, when I have belief in my self, I am more able to manifest my dreams.  I always remind my self, I am living my life right now, and I must make this present moment count.  I must make this moment beautiful.  I believe my attitude about life, becomes my reality, and attitude is a VERY powerful thing!

3.)     How does having confidence in your-self make life better?

Confidence in your self is key.  Confidence allows me to treat my-self with respect, and in turn other people treat me with respect.  When I have confidence in my-self, other people have confidence in me, and then people in my life give me more responsibility.  As a result of taking on more responsibility, and doing esteem-able acts, my confidence grows, and I develop into a more confident women!

4.)    Have you ever felt peer pressure from your family or friends, have they stopped you from what you want in life? Have you ever been affected by negative people or negative comments, if so how did you get over them?

Firstly, I am blessed with a lovely family, and they have given me the gift of unconditional love, which has manifested into belief and love for my-self, and belief for my purpose in my life.  My family has always told me to follow my heart and do what I love most in life.  I have also been wise about the friends that I choose to surround my-self with, and they have also been very supportive.

However, I have been in a relationship in the past that was negative, and for me, I had to let go of this person, and the negative relationship because it did not serve me in a positive way.  I am very cautious about what people I have in my intimate circle of friends and family.  I cannot afford to surround my-self with negative people.  There will always be people in the world who will criticize me, so I must not allow these people in my inner circle.  I have also experienced being around some negative people, and again, for me it’s about treating everyone with respect, but not allowing my-self to become too close to the people who bring me down.  I keep negative people at arm’s length.

5.)    Do you learn from your mistakes and stay focused?

I think I do.  I think I am constantly trying to progress, personally, emotionally, physically, and mentally.  I make it a point to mentally check in with my-self about where I’m at in life, and how I can better my-self, and how can I better my community.  As a result of trying to constantly progress, I learn from what mistakes I made yesterday, and think of ways to handle the situation better in the future.

As far as staying focused, I think it’s essential to stay focused on your goals, and stay focused on the day to day tasks of achieving those goals.  I try to stay focused on my goals, and when I do, I feel good.

6.)    Are you willing to risk failures if you accomplish a higher goal later. Why?

I have a different way of looking at failure.  When Thomas Edison was asked in an interview one time, “How does it feel to have failed 10,000 times at attempting to make the light bulb and have not gotten any results?”  Edison responded, “Results? Why, man, I have gotten lots of results! If I find 10,000 ways something won’t work, I haven’t failed. I am not discouraged, because every wrong attempt discarded is often a step forward….”  This interview tells me that there is no such thing as failure, only constant progression toward the direction of my goals and dreams.  My mother and father always told, “Moira, No risk, No gain, No guts, No glory!”  Meaning you can’t have one without the other, for me, falling down is part of the process, and I must accept the process.

The End!

xxM.Shay

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

