Skip to content

Paella on a budget!

January 14, 2012

I made a decision for my new years resolution to learn to cook some Spanish food during the remaining 5 months of my stay here in Spain.  Last night was my first attempt at cooking Paella.  For the most part I made the rules up as I went, so don’t take this Blog entry as an authentic Spanish recipe.  I did however follow some guidelines from Jamie Oliver, and the finish product did surprisingly resemble the picture from his website.  The great thing about living in the South of Spain is that produce is VERY cheap compared to the US, so here’s my version of Jamie Oliver’s Paella on a budget.  Also, my measurments are for 2-3 servings, so you can have left overs for lunch the next day!

Grocery List:

Chicken Breast, Saffron, Garlic, Onions, Peas, Olive Oil, Paella rice, and Chicken broth.

First Step: Pre heat your over at 185 C.  Heat a frying pan with olive oil, meanwhile season the chicken with flour, salt papper, and pollo powder (it was in my cabinet-don’t ask)

Fry the chicken for 3 minute on each side in the pan. Put the chicken in the pre heated oven to bake off.

Second Step:  Put 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth on a pot in the stove, infuse the broth with saffron.  Approximently 4 shakes from the spice container.  Mean while get another frying pan going with olive oil coating the bottom.

Third Step:  Mince 3 cloves of garlic, and cut up 1/2 an onion.  put the onion, garlic, and approximently 1 1/2 cups of peas in the skillet.

Fourth step:  By this time (20 min later) your rice should be cooked, so dump the rice in the skillet with the veggies.  Remove the chicken from the oven, cut it up and add it to the skillet as well.

Fifth Step:  Eat your creation from the skillet on the stove top, it’s warm, it’s satisfying, why should you wait to grab a plate?

After thoughts:

So, I think what made this paella good was the high quality olive oil that I used from Spain, so I would suggest investing in the good quality olive oil from the grocery store.  It would have been nice to add shrimp, but not necessary, and it still tasted good.  My goal is to be able to observe a real Spaniard making Paella, so I will let you know when that happen and make sure to take mental notes, and report back to you.

Cheers from Spain

xxM

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

