Skip to content

Travels, thoughts and discoveries.

January 8, 2012

Hey, Sooo I have reached the half way point of my time here in Spain.  It’s crazy after such a short time how I have managed to adapt my lifestyle.  Coming back to Spain after traveling for a few weeks was such a good feeling.  It really does feel good to be back in my little pueblo blanco after sleeping in hotels and hostels, not to mention it made me feel good to be welcomed home by my Spanish friends.  It’s the new year, and the start of the second semester at my school, and I have been reflecting about how I want to show up for my job here in Spain these next 4 months.  How can I improve my teaching?  How can I be of more service?  What energy do I want to bring with me to school?  All of these questions have been bouncing through my head, as well as the emotions that the thoughts evoke.  I feel stressed, scared, nervous, and anxious that I will not fulfill my job to the best of my abilities at times.  In a school where some of the teachers who are supposed to be bi lingual, and can barely communicate with me as to what they want me to do, it can feel like an up hill battle that I don’t want to be bothered with facing.  Instead of focusing on the negative, I must come from the perspective of what I DO have to offer.  I can play guitar, I can play music, and I can sing with the kids.  I can use the skills I have acquired from teaching kids in New York here in Spain, and music is the best way for kids to learn! There, easy enough, I can incorporate music in the classroom, and that’s what I intend to do with the kids for this half of the school year!  So as far as my job in concerned, I think I have a pretty clear goal as to how to improve my work, but since I am in Spain I must also take this time to improve personally, and physically.  I am going to start playing soccer with a group of pals during the week, I would love to find a dance class to take, and I would like to learn to cook some Spanish food as well.  I think by allowing my self to become more involved in the community, it will make my stay here in Spain more pleasant.  I have leaned that when I move to a new place, it is imperative that I find local places to meet my needs, to help me make my foreign surrounding my new home.  Arcos is coming close, and I still have a bit of work to do, before I can feel completely settled in here!

Cheers,

XxM

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

