Skip to content

Last Post from Italy…. :( but I’ll be back!

December 6, 2011

So I have been in Rome for 5 amazing days, and this is my third blog post.  I LOVE Italy so much, and I feel like I must share with you my experience of the beauty of the culture.  Sunday was my last FULL day/night in Italy, and of course first thing in the morning my cousin and I went to the local cafe.  We first ordered two cappuccino, and two stuffed chocolate croissants.  While we ate our breakfast, we met and conversed with two old Italian men at the cafe, who taught us some useful words in Italian.  After the first round of cafe, we decided we wanted to order two macchiatos, and two delicious chocolate biscotti’s.  This cafe was sooo cheap, our whole bill was only 4.60 euros, and it was such good quality food and coffee.  If anyone goes to Italy please let me know, and I will provide you with the address of this cafe.  The interior of the cafe is so cozy, the bar is in the front, with the pastries enclosed in a glass case, and there are tables along the wall.  In the back room of the cafe there are comfy couches, and chairs to sit and read a book from the books for sale on the cook shelves.  The music I must say was great as well, it was a mix of Christmas jazz music, and contemporary indie rock.  After breakfast we decided to wonder around the city looking in the local shops and markets.  Sunday afternoon in Rome is bustling with people Christmas shopping and eating in restaurants in the city.  It was fun to look in the stores even though we couldn’t buy anything.  We were starting to get a little hungry so it was time for some Gelato.  I got a cone with three scoops, and I have to say each time the taste gets better and better.  I seriously could eat gelato everyday for the rest of my life.  As if the food couldn’t have gotten any better, later that evening our dinner blew my mind.  We walked over to a great neighborhood known as Trastevere, and ate pizza at a restaurant called DarPoeta.  It was the best pizza I have ever eaten in my life.  My cousin got a pizza with chunks of mozzarella cheese, cherry tomatoes, and basil, and I got a pizza with red sauce, salami, and chilies.  For dessert we split a chocolate nutella, ricotta cheese calzone.  We were both so full in the most satisfied way possible.  We walked back to the center near her apartment and decided to take one more walk around the Piazza Navona.  As we wandered around the stalls selling Christmas goodies, we made our way into the center and cast our eyes on the carousel, so we implusively jumped on and took a ride on the hourses.

What a beautiful day, followed by a beautiful last night in the beautiful city of Rome.

Oh how I am looking forward to more fun, more adventure, and more beauty in the months ahead.

xx,  M.Shay

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 6, 2011 5:39 pm

    Look for San Crispino gelato while in Rome.

Leave a Reply

