Skip to content

I miss….

November 13, 2011

Hey,

It’s Sunday here in Spain, and there’s not a whole lot of exciting going on today in Arcos, considering everything is closed on Sundays in Spain. boo Which reminds me of the things I miss back home. I miss the stores being open on Sunday, I miss puppy chow, I miss cheap peanut butter (it’s really expensive here), I miss my friends, I miss my family, I miss getting my eyebrows waxed (I have to pluck them here), I miss driving in my own car, I miss going out to dinner with my family, I miss black coffee from Starbucks, I miss cupcakes….but then I start to think about all the wonderful things I love about Spain, and all the wonderful experiences I get to have while working and living abroad.

I love my free time here, I love the kids at my school, I love the people I am meeting here, I love the new tapas I get to try every week, I love the carne (it’s so tender), I love olive oil on everything, I love walking home from school in the warm noon sun, I love watching the old Spanish men all gathered together in the park, I love sleeping in until 2pm on Sundays, I love having time to read the news, I love drinking cafe con leche, I love the view of the white houses from my rooftop terrace, I love going on a run in the evenings when the temperature cools down and seeing the views of the old church from the elevated hilltops, I love traveling to the different cities in Andalusia, I love going to the Moroccan tea house and drinking a hot tea, and I love dinner parties with the ladies of course!!

So many people are searching for happiness, I my-self am guilty of searching for happiness. I thought moving to Spain would make me happier, or at least free me from the familiar, everyday life that I was living back home, which at the time seemed unsatisfying. I am discovering that happiness is a state of mind, a state of which you are grateful for the things that you have in your life at this very moment. It’s about being satisfied with what I have, not upset, and focused on the things I don’t have. I feel so privileged to be living in Spain, experiencing a whole new way of living different from the way I grew up in the states. At times living abroad can be frustrating, lonely, bring about thoughts of deep contemplation, emotions of fear, worry, and confusion. I have to say I am grateful to be growing, to be learning, and to be experiencing a whole range of emotions that push me, make me stronger, help me to become more compassionate, and inspire the music with in me!

On the contrary to the emotions of discord, I have felt elated from the sights of the new cities I have visited, I have felt peace from being able to enjoy the moment, and I have felt in harmony with my purpose in life, to inspire, and be inspired.

cheers till next time,

xx….M.Shay

Ohh how can’t wait to see my favorite people again, and eat my favorite food again too!

20111226-000302.jpg

20111226-000321.jpg

20111226-000351.jpg

20111226-000447.jpg

20111226-000527.jpg

20111226-000555.jpg

20111226-000622.jpg

20111226-000708.jpg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

