Skip to content

Why I moved to Spain…

October 20, 2011

Every day I have a different answer to the question of why I moved to Spain.  Today, for me I moved to Spain for a simple lifestyle.  I feel happy with a manageable work schedule, a few friends, playing my guitar, and being of service to those around my community.  I do not see billboards of corporations or models, I do not see big lights and hear noises from my balcony window, and I do not see retail shops every few yards.  I see children playing futbol at 10pm at night, I see old men gathered drinking 40’s in the park and talking to each other, I see people in the cafes eating tapas, and I see people shopping at the local flea markets which consist home supplies and a wide variety of nuts and olives.  I moved to Spain because I need to know how other people live, what they eat, how they cook, what they do, how they speak, what they think, how they feel, how they act, and things they do in their daily life.  I didn’t want to travel to another country, I wanted to be influenced by their way of life, a life different from my own.  I moved to Spain to take a siesta, to shop at the local markets, to celebrate their holidays, to make friends, to grow, to regain inspiration, to love, to be grateful from where I came from, and to find new ways of living.  When I’m in the united states I feel so anxious, like my whole life is passing me by and my time is quickly running out.  In the states I usually feel an insecure component in regards to my vanity, that is not present in Spain.  I feel a natural comfort here, it’s the energy, it’s in the interactions with people, it’s something in the air, it’s a beautiful thing and I’m loving it!! I moved to Spain to forget about my obsession with success, with my desire to do more, and constantly search for something bigger and better.  I want to learn to slow down, enjoy the days, and not have 12 hour work days.  I have been learning to soak up the moment, be present, smell the ocean breeze, and not be occupied with what I have to do tomorrow.  I’m living life-like a carnival….and I recommend that you try it! I will be taking this feeling with me everywhere I go!

xx,

Morah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2011 12:07 pm

    I hear you! Wow – I am so impressed by the move! I only dream of making the big changes – of slowing down. The closest I come is every so often – I take an extended holiday – hope to spend a few months in Asia or Africa on the next one! For now, 2 weeks in Spain will have to do for me!

  2. kari scherling permalink
    November 11, 2011 4:55 am

    I couldn’t agree more! its amazing how liberated you feel when you leave the US..I recently read a quote by Albert Einstein where he noted his first impression of the US. and he said that for the american, time is always becoming and never being. and I thought that is so prefound. that mentality is so ingrained in our identity. And its freeing to get away form it an be around people who live life so differently. Soak it in love

Leave a Reply

