Skip to content

The Dinner Club begins! (me gusta pie crust)

October 13, 2011

 Last night was the premier dinner club started by the lovely Auxiliares of Arcos de la Frontera.  Chelsea brought baked breadcrumb zucchinis, Kate brought a refreshing veggie pasta salad, Cece made a chicken ensalada, Kaela brought crackers, salchicha, queso y tortilla espanola (spanish omelette), lastly Nur and I made delightful peach pie (with vanilla ice cream)! Dios Mio (omg), it’s was muy bien! The community, the spirit, the food, the conversation, and the lovely piso (apartment) made the evening magical.  We hope to have a monthly get together with different themes every month.  Of course the month of November we will have a thanksgiving dinner, and I’m sure that Nur and I will make an Apple pie!  When I decided I wanted to bake a peach pie for the first dinner club I didn’t put into consideration the fact that in Spain they use a different measurement system, so that made things a wee bit dodgy.  As a result we have to eye-ball the measurements of flour, sugar, nut meg, and cinnamon.  Also, Spain does not sell Vanilla or Almond extract at the Mercadona (big grocery store) or the corner store, so we eliminated that ingredient as well, but we marinated the peaches in extra lemon juice as a substitute.  We also learned our oven is very strong, because after we baked the pie for 20 minutes the crust was almost overcooked, and our pie almost exploded in the oven.  Thankfully, we took it out on time and the pie was a success, not to mention our crust was perfectly golden brown. Yuuummmm….how I love pie crust!! It’s simply the best! (pics of the pie will coming soon)  I am really looking forward to our future dinner clubs, and to the wonderful creations we will make.

till next time…….xx

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 11:27 am

    Way to go, Morah and Co! I can relate to the learning curve as re: measurements and oven temps. Even remembering the oven is centigrade and not farenheit, our oven runs hot as well. FYI, your Mom made her most excellent Thai salad for our Saturday night get together and it’s fresh, lo cal, lo fat and easy. Lots of lime, mint, basil, lettuces, ginger, sesame and tomatoes. And rice noodles. I think you should make it one of these parties–though must admit it does not seem like a T-Day or Xmas meal. And by the way–“wee bit dodgy??” I detect a distinctly British phrase there.

    • October 13, 2011 11:39 am

      haha yes! I have been around some British ppl lately, and my roommate is from Scotland so she uses different phrases as well. haha Yesss..the Thai salad..AMAZING! I love my Moms cooking and I miss it! Although I am going to have to scope out the grocery store for those ingrediants, because I’m not sure if I can find them in my small town 😦 the food here is pretty plain for the most part, so they don’t have all those extra sauces, and herbs. We shall see!

Leave a Reply

