Skip to content

The Spanish way

October 12, 2011

When I’m in the states, I am always thinking about the next thing to get accomplished, I always feel anxious, and it’s hard for me to be able to relax, because I am constantly saying to my self, “I should be doing this…I should be getting this done…I should, I should, I should…”  And as a result, I am never really truly enjoying my self, my life, and my time spent with friends and family.  This anxious mentality is hardly pleasant, it is rather annoying and makes it nearly impossible to relax.  haha Some people have asked me, “Why did you move to Spain?” and the answer to this question is being revealed day by day.  Part of my decision to move to Spain, was to experience a different way of living, to get away from everything I was familiar with and emerge my self in a new culture, a new way, the Spanish way.  I am on a journey, trying to grow, live and learn.  To learn a different way to live apart from the only way I knew.  So for today, I am learning to stop saying the words, “I should”.  They are limiting, and leave no room for following what feels good in my soul.  The words “I should” make me a slave to these endless tasks of living, and I want to live life experiencing the joy in the work I do.  I don’t want to just get things done for the sake of I shoulds anymore.  I hope I can adapt this mentality while I am here, I am a work in progress, so we shall see.

I am learning to slow down.  I am learning to have acceptance with my self, and my language ability, which is also a work is process.  I am reading children’s books in Spanish, and that is okay with me.  I am releasing judgement, and enjoying the process of learning new words.  Why did I move to Spain…..till next time.

 

Adios xx

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2011 2:15 pm

    Sorry for the delinquency of any comment – regardless —

    So what I’m hearing is that you’ve co-opted this opportunity and turned it into a 2 semester self-directed course on relaxation and other pleasantries? Sounds incredible!

    p.s. children’s books rule! Dr. Suess – Shel Silverstein!!! the list could totally go on ~

    I forgot to mention Manu Chao as a Spanish language musical suggestion – I’ll find some more too, as I’m presently searching for such artists.

    After this, it is a bit long winded -and the language archaic- but perhaps check out: http://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Thus_Spake_Zarathustra/Part_One#1._The_Three_Metamorphoses

    thought of the story while reading the post ~

    safetravels, laughter and enjoyment
    saludos
    chris

    • October 14, 2011 8:18 pm

      haha no apology needed. that is exactly what I am doing and I’m loving it. I need to grow, to do some self searching, and regain my passion for life and music again! thanks for all your comments, emails, I’m going to get back to your email today! Loved the occupy wall street article u sent meee! keep it coming

      Lots of love across the pond, ps come visit!!!

      Morah

      • October 16, 2011 3:43 pm

        and if it was that easy, you know I would — I’ll look for a spanish language program to take through school over there, though right now Mexico is looking like my best bet to finish my language program. i learned i can graduate as soon as fall of next year! so i’m kinda bull-headed in that direction presently 🙂

        check out occupymn.org or livestream.com/occupymn for local updates and conversations from MN!

        saludos por ahora

Leave a Reply

