Skip to content

October 7th, 2011 9 years TODAY!

October 7, 2011

Hello,

9 years ago today was the last day I used.  My life has become remarkable, and I am doing things that I always wanted to do, striving to be the person I want to be (although I sometimes fail), and doing work I believe in.  There are times where I wish I accomplished more, could be more, do more, MORE MORE MORE! There’s so much I want to do in life, and thus far I have not let fear stop me.  Sobriety has afforded me the opportunity to walk gracefully through my fear, follow my intuition, have compassion for others and listen to others, gauge where my life is at, but most importantly it has giving me my a relationships with my friends and family.  A month ago I moved to Spain, and although I do not speak Spanish, I will make sure to get to the only meeting once a week in my small town tonight.  We speak the language of the heart, and I feel at home in the rooms of AA.  I may not understand what they say, but it is important that I show up to the meeting tonight and say, Soy Moira, Soy un alcohólico.  The fellowship is large, and I have friends all over the world thanks to AA.  Time flies, and why am I still clean?  Idk, the only explanation is that God is doing for me, what I cannot do for my-self, during times when I had given up and really thought I was ‘normal’.  I am thankful, I am greatful, and I am fotunate to live this life on a spiritual basis and to be able to call my self an alcoholic.

thanks to everyone who has shown their support, and listened to me.

love,

Moira

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 11:32 am

    Hey! Sorry I missed your anniversary. Congratulations on NINE years! Wow. Where did the time go? What you say is true–you have accomplished so much during that time. Lots of love to you Morah from your ever amazed Aunt. And what a way to improve your Spanish–at an AA meeting!

  2. October 19, 2011 2:25 pm

    Thank YOU so much for all your support!

Leave a Reply

